Configure Locations Settings

Background

Using the Locations Settings page in the Locations tool, you can perform the following tasks:

  • Configure advanced location settings.

  • View permissions for the Locations tool users.

Note:

  • To configure advanced settings, you require Admin-level permissions enabled on the project's Locations tool.

  • To view or edit permissions for the Locations tool users, admin access to the Project Admin tool is required.

Things to Consider

Steps

Configure Location Settings

  1. Navigate to the project's Locations tool.
    The Locations page appears with the List View by default.
    Note: You can configure which table view and table column names you want to see in the Locations table.

  2. Click the gearIcons Settings Gearicon located at the top left side of the Locations page.
    The Locations Settings page appears with the following tabs:

    • Settings

    • Permissions
      The Settings tab is selected by default.

  3. In the Location Settings section, configure the following options:

    1. Allow Locations to be created outside of the Locations tool and Locations Manager: This setting is mandatory. When this option is selected, you are able to create locations from any location field within the app without having to use the Locations tool or Locations Manager (legacy).

    2. Location Types: Use this setting to manage location types. See Create and Manage Custom Location Types.

  4. Click Back to navigate to the main Locations page.

View Permissions

  1. Select the Permissions tab on the Locations Settings page.
    The Permissions table appears, displaying the user account names and their assigned permission rights.
    Note: You cannot edit any user details directly on the Locations Settings page.

  2. After viewing the user account details in the Permissions table, click Back to navigate to the main Locations page.

  3. To edit any user details, click on the desired user account name under the Name column in the Permissions table.
    The Project Directory page appears, allowing you to edit the selected user account details.
    Note: You can directly add new users and assign permissions in the Project Directory tool. See Create a User Account in the Project Directory.

See Also

Loading related articles...